Taking on the daunting task of counting calories.

I have friends and they do things like count calories, go to the gym and be healthy. I, on the other hand, am not so focused on my health regime.
 
I like my veggies, I rarely eat red meat, I consume little dairy-cheese is my weakness-, and I do 30-40 minute sessions of yoga five times a week. I also walk everywhere. This is simply how I like living my life. 
 
I am by NO means skinny, not even a bit. I am a chunky gal and I’m totally okay with it. Rockin’ a solid 84 kilograms/185 pounds. However, I could be healthier and honestly should be healthier. 
 
So in addition to my almost daily yoga, I will start counting my calories. 
 
My weakness -besides cheese- is chocolate and cookies. I also love pizza, veggie/chicken burgers with poutine and samosas. 
My strengths-beside doing yoga- are I like being outside and love exploring food.
 
How will this go?
 
I would be lying if I wrote this as if I haven’t counted calories before. I have. It’s tedious and I usually give up because it takes up a good chunk of time.
 
I have watched a couple of videos on the matter and asked my friends how they keep it up and it’s all about persistence. Literally, “Just do it.”
 
So, that’s what I’m going to do. Suck it up and document it all. 
 
Apps
 
I am using MyFitnessPal by Under Amour (not a sponsor) as the calorie counter and Fit by Google (also, not a sponsor) as my fitness tracker
 
What’s nice about MyFitnessPal is it counts ALL calories including exercise. What it doesn’t do is handle custom workouts… I get around this by using the Fit app.
 
I like Fit because it can follow me throughout my day without hassle and it easily includes other apps seamlessly
 
For example, when I was using Nike+ Training (again, not a sponsor), Fit picked it up no problem. It counted the time, the calories and added it to my daily timeline; which made it easy to add to MyFitnessPal.
 
Websites.
 
To get an idea of what my meals should look like, for free because budget, I used Eatthismuch.com (not a sponsor). I made a free account and got an idea of what my meals should look like. 
 
This site seems pretty helpful by making the information point blank visible. They have an app too but it I have limited space on my phone so… 
MyFitnessPal also has an extensive library on meals.
 
And finally, Google.ca. I type in 500 calorie meals and BAM the search engine does its thing and provides me with limitless websites. Technology is a beautiful thing. 
 
What do I want out of this?
 
Like I wrote earlier, I should be healthier. I have no excuse not to be besides laziness. 
 
I live in an artisanal community with organic/vegan/vegetarian/local restaurants and daily farmer’s markets, most within a 10 minute walk. The furthest being about a half hour walk away.
 
So I literally do not have an excuse. All healthy options are at my fingertips, it’s just a matter of making them. 
 
From my research I should be closer to 70kg.
 
At 84kg, I should be consuming 1993 calories per day (which is A LOT more than I thought it would be). Each of my four meals should be around 500 calories; if I want to reach my goal of 73kg by January (because my “deadline” is incredibly original).
 
That gives me 8 months to lose 11kg. This is going to be a quite the challenge.
Have you done something like this before? How did your experience go? Do you have any tips for me? Let me know in the comments 🙂
5 Comments Add yours

  1. krystiwithak says:

    I have an on-and-off relationship with dieting. Like you, I find counting calories to be extremely tedious. In fact, I vowed never to count calories again. My circumstances changed a few days ago; I have a benign brain tumor. It has grown and I will likely need surgery. I am overweight by BMI standards so definitely not a surgical risk but I’m trying to lose weight before surgery to minimize any risk 😩

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kayla says:

    Hi Krysti,
    I’m glad to hear someone else has the same challenge of counting calories as I do. I’ve been doing well so far with it, fingers crossed that I keep it up.

    I’m terribly sorry about the news of your tumour. I hope everything that can go well, does go well for you in the future 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I resonate with this on a spiritual level. MyFitnessApp is awesome for counting calories! I’m not doing that at the moment, but I’m thinking of getting back into it.

    At the moment, I’m just concentrating on walking and tracking how far I’m going. The Health App for iOS and Pokemon Go are helping!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kayla says:

    Keep it up girl!

    I have to say, I hate counting calories. But the payoff is too great to ignore.
    If you ever want to get back into it and need to pals for support hit Enith or I up 🙂

    Also, check out her blog Bubbly Mind.

    How is the Health App? As you know, I recently switched back to iPhone and Fit is not available.

    Like

Leave a Reply

